Students centre stage on graduation day

Wednesday 11 July 2012

More than 2,200 students will graduate from ANU this week, joining some 75,000 alumni who have earned degrees from the University since its establishment in 1946.

Around 1,220 undergraduate and graduate students will attend the formal graduation ceremonies, while 690 will have their degrees awarded inabsentia. More than 180 different degrees from all ANU Colleges will be presented across five ceremonies

In addition to the conferring of awards, 10 outstanding students will be presented with University Medals. These prestigious prizes are awarded to students who have excelled academically throughout their course of study. The Medallists include

Miles Delahunty and Kai-Wei (Shaun) Siau from the ANU College of Business and Economics
David Rowe and Radhika Chaudhri from the ANU College of Law
Yequing Hu and Jing Guo and from the ANU College of Engineering and Computer Science
Jonathan Henshaw and Erick Tjhin from the ANU College of Medicine, Biology and Environment
Rowan Peter and Charlotte Francis from the ANU College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences

Also attending the ceremonies is Dr Nathan Woolley of the ANU College of Asia and the Pacific, who will receive the JG Crawford Prize for students most deserving of recognition for the quality of their graduate work. Dr Woolley’s PhD thesis on religion and politics in 10th century China has been described as ‘nothing short of brilliant – a real tour de force’. He will take up a post-doctoral position at the Australian Centre on China in the World at ANU later this year.

One of the two recipients of the 2012 ANU Prize for Excellence in Secondary School Teaching will also attend the graduation ceremonies. Candidates for the Prize, which acknowledges the contribution that outstanding teachers make in shaping the lives of the future generation, are nominated by graduands. Ms Marie Clarke will attend with her former student Ms Stephanie Henry, who is graduating with a Bachelor of Arts (Spanish Honours) and Bachelor of Law, to receive her Prize.

The other recipient, Mrs Amrita Chakrabarty, was nominated by Ms Tanmayi Oruganti, who is graduating with a Bachelor of Engineering with Honours. Ms Oruganti, who was taught by Ms Chakrabarty at Delhi Public School in Bopal, India, will accept the award on her behalf.

Congratulations to all of the July graduands and prize winners.

Updated:  22 May 2018/Responsible Officer:  Director, RSC/Page Contact:  Web Admin, RSC